Beaumont was the ninth high school to be open in the St. Louis Public School System in September of 1926 and was named for the early St. Louis surgeon Dr. William Beaumont. Beaumont
High School stands on the former site of National League park, where the St. Louis Cardinals played from 1899 until their
move to Sportsman's Park on Grand Boulevard in 1920. The city bought the ballpark in 1920 and six years later, built the largest
school in St. Louis. The cost to build the school was the most of the previous eight at $2,296.870 including the site. It
contained 95 rooms, besides 30 ancillary rooms, and an auditorium seating 2,250 people. Its site was 6351/2 feet by 672 feet.
Beaumont High School inherited
the legacy of twenty years of rich experience of the Yeatman
High School. When it opened, the entire student body and faculty of the Yeatman High School moved from their old building to the larger Beaumont High in 1926. The
students from the ninth grade of the Central High School also moved there. Those two bodies of students were fused into one homogeneous group destined
to build a new spiritual superstructure upon the foundation provided by former experiences.
The first Principal was
Mr. Wilbur N. Fuller and Mr. Albert H. Huntington was the assistant principal.
The school, which serves
fourteen hundred students, recently reopened following a complete renovation. Beaumont High School has received local, state
and national awards for its science programs.